The Bandaged Place

I mentioned in a previous post that you should never try to ignore the abusive past that you’ve experienced.  Some people say that hurtful pasts make you “stronger.”  I don’t know if I believe that or not.  I think sometimes people say that so they can build up their tough-armor.  So that they can add another layer of protection to the walls they’re constructing around their hearts.

No, I don’t think that hardships make you stronger.  I believe that hardships, abuse, etc., if taken time to heal from and responded to with a spirit of determination, kindness, and patience, give me the strength only to be more vulnerable.  I am not invincible, but I am determined that I will never lose my capacity to feel.  Never shut down on my heart, my hurt, my pain ever again.  Because I am worth loving myself for.

And, as the poet Rumi says:

“Don’t turn away.  Keep your gaze on the bandaged place.  That’s where the light enters you.”

The light.  I can’t help thinking about how true all the clichés can be.

One thought on “The Bandaged Place

  1. A great point, Lauren. Leonard Cohen wrote a song lyric that speaks to this also: “Ring the bells that still can ring. Forget your perfect offering. There is a crack, a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in, that’s how the light gets in, that’s how the light gets in”. I wonder if he got that from Rumi.

    Your words and ideas mirror my own thoughts so much that it is uncanny. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

