a healing playlist

“Music is what feelings sound like.”
“Music washes away the dust from our souls.”
“Music was my refuge. I could crawl myself into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.”

One of the things I found most helpful during the healing process was music. Different music for different occasions, for different periods in the healing process and something for a range of emotions felt during the experience. I decided to share this playlist with my readers. Just keep in mind that these songs were just some of the ones I felt helped me most during my healing process. As with all art and music, they are not a generic prescription that everyone will enjoy. You may like some and not like others. Or you may disagree with my approach entirely. Any response is completely fine 🙂 This, as with my entire blog, is just a facet specific to my healing. For many of these, it is important to listen to the lyrics as well as the general emotion of the music. For others, it is necessary only to close your eyes and feel. And sometimes, the most healing part is just throwing your hands up and dancing along…

Some of the songs were for just sitting in my room, crying; angry at how my abusers had hurt me. These songs described the manipulation and the anger. Or the feeling of suffocation and inability to escape:

Florence and the Machine: Blinding

Christina Perri: Jar of Hearts

Sara Bareilles: Gravity

Some of the songs were for celebrating hope and renewal; for turning over a new page in my life, for finding something beautiful, and for looking forward to the future, by enjoying the fact that I’ve overcome so much:

Florence and the Machine: Dog Days are Over

Noah and the Whale: Blue skies

First day of spring

Massive Attack: Better Things

The Beatles: Here Comes the Sun

Some of the songs were for singing to myself. For reminding myself that I’ve got the love I need to see me through this process, and that I’m still an innocent. That what other people have done to me doesn’t make me any less of an innocent. I define who I am myself:

Florence and the Machine: You’ve Got the Love

Taylor Swift: Innocent

Some of the songs were for reminding me to get back out there. For reminding me that I can’t hide away from the world for my entire life, scared of being hurt again. But that one day, I must come out of my cave and face all the beauty that life has to offer. That I need to jump into the day, and that all healing starts out by taking the first step:

Mumford and Sons: The Cave

High Places: Jump in

And some of the songs, I have no idea what the lyrics mean (as in the Sigur Ros ones), but they are calming and peaceful and perfect for quiet meditations. Perfect for leading away from the pain, for letting go and relaxing in a soothing moment with yourself:

Sigur Ros: Ara Batur

Su i eyrum

Iron and Wine: Flightless Bird, American Mouth

Most importantly, music was just another piece in the puzzle of what saved me. It can express emotions that there are no words for, emotions that I never quite understood myself. It can take you on a journey; a journey through hurt that can lead to the uplifting of your soul. And most importantly, it can bring you a moment of peace and laughter amidst a swirl of anguish.

One thought on “a healing playlist

  1. Pingback: Healing exercise: Drawing Journal « Healing from Abuse

Leave a Reply

